Single & Valentine’s Day Mutually Exclusive?

It’s Valentine’s Day weekend.  Yes, I’m single.  Yes, I tried making fun of the holiday this past week by cracking jokes and posting sarcastic cartoon photos on my facebook such as “If you see Cupid, bitchslap that little punk for me!”  The truth of the matter is that I’m a romantic no matter what my relationship status– not to be confused with “hopeless romantic.”

This is the first time in many, many moons that I’ve been single, unattached, uninvolved.  It’s been well over a year of flying solo!  It actually is refreshing as well as essential to being in touch with Kimberly….Much peace, clarity, insight, and grounding has been a result.

The thing is that I don’t have one ounce of regret, bitterness, anguish or anything of the like on this Valentine’s holiday.  Quite the contrary actually.  I am actually embracing the notion of Valentine’s and all that it culturally and socially represents.  I chuckle because it almost seems like Cupid shot me in the ass with his arrow when I wasn’t looking– my whole aura and state of mind and emotion resonates with love, sensuality, passion, and warmth…as if I’ve been emersed into the abyss of this amorous holiday.  What has come over me?  Lol.  I’m happy, excited, and feel like a child in a candy store.  Why?  Honestly, I have NO idea.  /shrug   However, I’m not complaining or refuting this state I’m in.

So for those of you who are single this Valentine’s year, what is your attitude towards the holiday “for sweethearts?”  What is your demeanor like?  What state are you in?  How do you approach or/and express yourself to others during this holiday?  Do you ignore it?  Do you pretend like you don’t care?  Do you poke fun of it and of the “fools” who are “in love?”  What about self love?

Now that’s an interesting point!  We ascertain the belief that a holiday of love is only celebrated by and meant for “lovers,” for those who have a significant other in their life.  But wait, what about Self-Love?  What about the celebration of Love and all that it represents?

I must pause a moment and ponder this epifany of mine……  thoughts?  comments?  Please indulge– or divulge?  lol

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. wavensongz
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 17:01:50

    Hi, just had to add your post to mine on this week of love making, the real truth will set them FREE. Thanks 😀 You can be Single and have a LIFE. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

